22 Sep 2023

Annual political summit with Normandy and La Manche


Guernsey has hosted the annual political summit with the departmental council of la Manche, the regional council of Normandy and Jersey.

The annual summit has been held since 2015, when a cooperation agreement was signed between Jersey, Guernsey, La Manche, and the then region of Lower Normandy. As part of the cooperation agreement, representatives from each jurisdiction meet each year to explore how they can work together.

During the summit, discussions covered various topics including post-Brexit issues such as fishing, customs & immigration matters; marine renewable energies; emergency planning; cultural links, such as language and education; and connectivity. Consideration was also given to broader political relationships and areas of mutual interest within Europe and the EU.

At the summit meeting Guernsey was represented by Deputy Jonathan Le Tocq, member of the Policy and Resources Committee with responsibility for external relations; Deputy Neil Inder, President of the Committee for Economic Development; Deputy Rob Prow, President of the Committee for Home Affairs; Deputy Lindsay De Sausmarez, President of the Committee for the Environment and Infrastructure; and Deputy Andrea Dudley-Owen, President of the Committee for Education, Sport and Culture.

Jersey was represented by the Deputy Chief Minister, Deputy Kirsten Morel; Deputy Helen Miles, Minister for Home Affairs; and Deputy Jonathan Renouf, Minister for Environment.

The departmental council of La Manche was represented by its President, Jean Morin; the regional council of Normandy was represented by its Vice President, François-Xavier Priollaud in charge of international relations; and the Préfecture of La Manche, representing the French State in the region, was represented by the Prefect Xavier Brunetière and his Deputy Prefect Stéphanie Petitjean.


Guernsey's Bailiff and other island officials